Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

Lisa Martin's Profile

Name:

Lisa Martin

Special Ed.

profile pic

Contact Info:

Work Phone:

4098282772

Cell Phone:

4098282772

Conference Times:

10:20-11:25

Class Room Number:

103

About Me

Educational History:

I have taught for 28 years in multiple grade levels. I taught 5th for 12 years, 4th grade for 1 year and special education for the rest of the years in a variety of settings. I love what I do and have been blessed to work with an amazing group of people. I am currently teaming with Sharon Bussell in the Prek classroom. I LOVE IT!!! I love your children and enjoy seeing them grow and learn.

Degrees and Certifications:

I have a Bachelor's of Science in Education. I have my certification from  PK -12th grade in Special Education. I am also certified to teach K- 8th grade in Elementary Education. I have training in sign language, picture exchange system, and plan on completing my Master Reading Teacher Certification.

 

 

Professional Development:

I have attended workshops on educationing a variety of special needs, including autism, ADHD, ADD and signficant cognitive disabilities. I have attended conferences in New Orleans, La. where I met Temple Grandin who is a highly intelligent woman who happens to be Autistic. She shared some very private struggles and how we in education can understand better what it is like to be affected by Autism.

I have also been invited to attend conferences in Austin to learn more about and have input on the testing of students with significant cognitive disabilities, as welll as offering input regarding the standards that must be met. If there ever is an idea, concern or comment just contact me and I will share it when I attend again. 

 

Current Position:

I started teaching in 1990. I have taught in a variety of special education settings.  I taught 5th grade Reading, Language, American History and  Science . I  taught 4th grade Reading, Language, Writing, and Texas History for one year. I have enjoyed teaching in all of these settings and working with students and parents. It is hard to believe that I am approaching 27 years in Education.

Previous Position:

Prior to teaching, I worked as a secretery assistant at  Lamar University.I  worked my way through college baby sitting for a local lawyer.  

My personal experiences have influenced my teaching and my response to children with difficulties. By  growing up in a poor, dysfunctional family with one brother who was dyslexic, I witnessed how difficult it was for him to read and comprehend .I also saw how he coped with his difficulties and then became one of the top electricians and carpenters in his field. My other brother had seizures growing up and struggled with mathematics. He is now a pastor of a church and master carpenter. As a youngster, I found myself trying to help them learn and make it easier for them to do so. Therefore, it was natural for me to become a teacher.

 

 

Family Information:

My name is Lisa Martin. I have been teaching for let's see.....27 years. I am certified in Elementary Education and Special Education. I have 2 children. Sarah is 22 years old, and is about to enter college. YIKES! My youngest daughter is Hope who is 20 years old. She has some severe disabilities and has already outlived her life expectancy. I was married for 23 years to Joe Martin, Jr. (Joey) He passed away March 5, 2011. Many of your students had him as a substitute teacher in the younger grades. He is greatly missed. However,  I am thankful for the years that I had him as my husband, and try to ponder on all of the great memories that we made. In my spare time, I travel and sing with my mother-in-law, my sister-in-law, my daughters and instrumentals that Mr. Martin recorded for us. We travel to churches all over.

I love teaching any subject but  I especially enjoy  Science and digging in the dirt, planting flowers, vegetables, as well as placing beneficial critters in our environment.

I will do my best to stay in contact with you and teach your child as much as I can and try to find ways to help them discover their potential. Your input is welcomed. Your efforts are appreciated.

I have 2 pets. I have a dog named Valentine. Valentine is a black and white Springer Spaniel . 

 
 
 

Personal Information:

My main hobby is singing most every weekend with my family. I love digging in the yard and spending time with my family. I love to go fishing and camping. I enjoy traveling to different places and meeting new people.

Lisa Martin

Upcoming Events